"Anglo American plc is one of the world's largest mining companies; with IM staff distributed across the globe. For this reason, the ITIL Foundation e-learning solution from ILX has provided us with an excellent mechanism to educate our staff, often located at mining sites far from major centres. The high standard of the multi-media rich course is exemplary in course design, interaction, assessment and learner support. The design of the course material makes it easy for students to navigate through the course material and optimise their learning at their own pace and convenience."

Brian Bear, Anglo American, South Africa

ITIL® Qualifications

ITIL® qualification

There are five ITIL® certification levels, each carrying a number of credits towards the advanced level qualifications.

The five levels of ITIL qualification are as follows:

1. ITIL Foundation - 2. ITIL Intermediate - 3. ITIL Expert - 4. ITIL Master
Copyright © AXELOS Limited 2016 Reproduced under licence from AXELOS

ITIL Foundation Certification: The basics of ITIL's framework in one training course and exam. Intended for individuals to learn the ITIL® foundations, this certification proves you understand how ITIL® can enhance the quality of IT service management within an organization. Being ITIL Foundation certified is perfect for those who work within an organization that has been adopted and adapted by the ITIL® frameworks. It's worth 2 credits towards Expert and allows you to take the Practitioner exam. Become a certified professional today with an ITIL Foundation certification.

ITIL V3 Foundation vs ITIL 2011 Foundation

The latest ITIL Foundation Certification is ITIL Foundation 2011, superseding ITIL V3 Foundation. Both ITIL Foundation 2011 and ITIL V3 Foundation grant you 2 credits towards the Expert Certification. Because 2011 is the current version, we offer ITIL Foundation 2011 training. The table below shows some of the improvements made in ITIL 2011:

  ITIL V3 Foundation ITIL 2011 Foundation
Service Strategy 3 Processes 5 Processes
Service Design 5 Processes 8 Processes
Event Filtering and Correlation Rules
Proactive Problem Identification

Because ITIL had V2 and V3 releases, many assumed there would be an ITIL V4 Foundation course. Instead, AXELOS standardized all their courses to name the versions after their release year. That's why V3 is discontinued and 2011 has taken its place. ITIL 2011 is sometime marketed as ITIL V4, but this is technically wrong.

ITIL Practitioner Certification: Provides a practical approach to ITIL and is available to all of those ITIL Foundation certified and above. Individuals learn the "what" and "why" with Foundation, and the "how to" with Practitioner. The critical competencies covered are organizational change management, communication, measurement, and metrics. ITIL Practitioner incorporates good practice from other methodologies and frameworks such as DevOps and Lean. It builds on these to bring a new perspective, which adds value to ITSM improvement initiatives. ITIL Practitioner complements and fits with the current qualification scheme. It's worth 3 credits towards Expert - the same as a Lifecycle Intermediate module. There is minimal overlap with Intermediate modules.

ITIL Intermediate Certification: There are two streams in the ITIL Intermediate level, the Service Lifecycle Stream and the Service Capability Stream. You can opt to take individual courses. To progress through the ITIL qualification scheme, you will need to earn at least 17 credits. Two of these credits must be earned from an ITIL Foundation certification. Then you can take the Managing across the lifecycle module and exam. Passing this grants a total of 22 credits which you can use towards the ITIL Expert level of certification. It's very important that you refer to the ITIL credit system and administration policy when deciding which courses to take. Ensure that the courses you choose are considered to be balanced. Some combinations cannot be used together for ITIL Expert applications.

ITIL Expert Certification: Once you have successfully completed all ITIL modules required and have earned sufficient credits, you be awarded the ITIL Expert certificate.

ITIL Master Certification: To be eligible for the ITIL Master you must have reached the ITIL Expert Level and worked in IT service management for at least five years in leadership, managerial, or higher management advisory levels. You must also have extensive practical "hands-on" ITIL experience. You first submit your application to become a Master and if your application is accepted, you will be required to submit a Proposal. If this is successful you'll be required to submit a Work Package. The final stage of the Master scheme consists of an Interview with a panel of assessors. If successful, you will be granted an ITIL Master certification.