Discover your potential - Up to 30% off!
Click here to view all courses

Use offer code: SALE0524EUR
Learn now, pay later – payment options available

ITIL Training blog

Request a quote Downloads


Repeat Customer

Have used ILX Group many times over the years for training. Not only are their prices competitive, but their online self-paced learning is thorough and the simulated practise exams prepare you really well for the real thing.

Patrick Mamo
Helped Pass ITIL4 Foundation Certification in first attempt with 95% score.

ITIL4 Foundation online course was very useful to help me pass the ITIL4 Foundation exam in first attempt. Pass Pledge feature is very good as it allows free second attempt and serves as a comfort factor. I didn't have to use Pass Pledge though as I passed the exam in first attempt with score of 95%.

Patrick Mamo
Posted on Tuesday, 3rd July 2018 12:32
Submitted by ILX Marketing Team
8 things you should know about ITIL

ITIL is used throughout both small and large organisations world-wide. According to ITSM Transition, some of these businesses include British Airways, Disney, Visa and Microsoft. ITIL can help towards improving how staff operate, how they can increase efficiency and ensuring services are at the forefront of technology. Regardless of whether you’re starting out in your career, or are a manager or business owner, the following are useful ITIL concepts you should be aware of:

1.    ITIL is not the same as project management

ITIL focuses on delivering best practice IT services that helps benefit customers, whereas project management purely focuses on the project itself and meeting the customer expectations and stakeholder’s needs.

2.    You can study ITIL anywhere

Not only are there classroom based courses in locations worldwide, you can learn at your own pace and get certified anywhere, anytime with specifically designed e-learning courses like these.

3.    ITIL improves communication

The ITIL framework encourages businesses to use a circular process which helps ensure IT systems are correctly understood throughout the business. This involves all employees and creates seamless communication so everyone knows what work is required from them, and when.

4.    ITIL is not a tool

ITIL isn’t actually a tool, but provides a clear set of frameworks for planning, designing and delivering IT services with the wider business in mind. There are no set tick boxes to abide by, just a guide to encourage best practice that can vary depending on the size and type of industry the company falls under.

5.    There are free training materials and downloads

If you want an idea of what is involved in taking an ITIL qualification, or have decided to study towards an ITIL exam, people in the ITSM community have uploaded past exam papers, training materials, quizzes and downloadable resources. You can find some of them for free here.

6.    You can implement ITIL in stages

Many companies introduce ITIL in phases over a certain period of time, so the organisation can tailor the process exactly for the type of business. There are also no rules stating that the company must incorporate the entire model of ITIL.

7.    ITIL is suitable for all levels of employees

ITIL training is not just for those in leadership or managerial positions. It actually can provide benefits for all levels, including new employees, customer service staff, IT professionals and managers. ITIL enables employees to become more efficient, and improves the productivity of operations. The levels of qualifications we currently offer are outlined below.

8.    There are four levels of qualifications

There are four levels of ITIL qualifications that can be achieved:

ITIL Foundation - The basics of ITIL’s framework in one training course and exam. This course is suitable for beginners to develop knowledge of ITSM fundamentals and is available as an e-learning or classroom based course.

ITIL Intermediate - ITIL’s Intermediate course is split into two categories, Service Lifecycle and Service Capability and can help you to demonstrate high levels of IT competence.

ITIL Expert - Once all of the ITIL modules above have been completed you will be awarded the ITIL Expert certificate.

ITIL Master - To be eligible for the ITIL Master you must have reached the ITIL Expert Level in addition to working in IT service management for at least five years.