Explore, discover, achieve! Up to 25% off
Click here to view all courses

Use offer code: SALE0724EUR
Learn now, pay later – payment options available
About ITIL
ITIL Training Organization - Accredited by PEOPLECERT


Helped Pass ITIL4 Foundation Certification in first attempt with 95% score.

ITIL4 Foundation online course was very useful to help me pass the ITIL4 Foundation exam in first attempt. Pass Pledge feature is very good as it allows free second attempt and serves as a comfort factor. I didn't have to use Pass Pledge though as I passed the exam in first attempt with score of 95%.

Patrick Mamo
Well prepared for exam

The content of the course gave really good context of the important information required to pass the foundations exam. The simulation exams were bang on. I was scoring in 90's for each randomly generated test and I scored 90% on the certificate exam. There is no interaction with the mobile app, but was a good supplement to listen to while walking/driving to reiterate the lesson.

All in all, I was able to ace the certification with about 3-4 weeks of effort.

Trusted Customer

Everything you need to know about ITIL 4

When will ITIL 4 be available?

ITIL 4 was launched in February 2019 with just the Foundation module. All the modules under the Managing Professional stream are also now available, and the Digital and IT Strategy module is due to be released late September 2020, completing the Strategic Leader stream. Details have not yet been given for ITIL Master.

Is ITIL V3 being discontinued?

ITIL V3 continues to be recognised as a credible IT certification, but is due to be discontinued before the end of 2020, although an official date has not yet been confirmed by either AXELOS (the accrediting body) or Peoplecert (the examining institute).

How can I transition from ITIL V3 to ITIL 4?

Your path will depend on your goals, as well as the accreditation you currently hold. As a guide, we recommend the following:

  • If you have ITIL V3 Foundation: complete ITIL 4 Foundation in order to transition to the new scheme.
  • If you have a low number of credits: either take ITIL 4 Foundation and a further module in a chosen area of interest, or gain 17 credits from ITIL V3 before the qualifications expire at the end of 2020
  • If you have at least 17 credits from ITIL v3: take the ITIL Managing Professional Transition module to achieve the new designation of ITIL Managing Professional.

Do I have to redo ITIL Foundation?

The ITIL 4 exam is significantly different from the ITIL V3 Foundation, and therefore we recommend that you complete the new course. However, if you hold 17 credits in the ITIL V3 scheme, then you are eligible to complete the ITIL Managing Professional Transition module as an alternative to completing ITIL 4 Foundation.

Where is ITIL Practitioner in ITIL 4?

ITIL Practitioner does not exist within the ITIL 4 framework, however the content covered in ITIL Practitioner will be integral to the ITIL 4 modules.

If I already hold ITIL V3 qualifications, what are my options?

If you already have 17 credits under the ITIL V3 qualification, then you are eligible to take the ITIL Managing Professional Transition module - you do not have to take the ITIL v3 Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) exam.

If you hold the ITIL Expert qualification, then you will also need to take the transition exam in order to convert your ITIL Expert designation to an ITIL Managing Professional. And if you also complete the ITIL Leader: Digital & IT Strategy module, you then become an ITIL Strategic Leader as well.

Can you explain the new certification levels?

There are five different designations or levels within the ITIL 4 certification scheme:

  • ITIL Foundation
  • ITIL Specialist
  • ITIL Strategist
  • ITIL Leader
  • ITIL Master

The diagram shows the two different designation streams - ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP) and ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL).

ITIL master diagram

Managing Professional stream

Aimed at IT professionals working within digital teams, ITIL 4's Managing Professional stream focuses on providing you with all the practical and technical knowledge you'll need to effectively run IT projects, services and workflows, and how to manage the teams within them.

To become an ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP), end-learners must complete the following modules:

  • ITIL 4 Foundation
  • ITIL 4 Specialist: Create, Deliver and Support (CDS)
  • ITIL 4 Specialist: Drive Stakeholder Value (DSV)
  • ITIL 4 Specialist: High-velocity IT (HVIT)
  • ITIL 4 Strategist: Direct, Plan and Improve (DPI)

Strategic Leader stream

The ITIL Strategic Leader stream recognises that ITIL's value goes beyond just IT operations, and can in fact be beneficial to all digitally-enabled services. Following this stream will show that you appreciate and understand how IT can affect and influence overall business strategy.

To become an ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL), end-learners must complete the following modules:

  • ITIL 4 Foundation
  • ITIL 4 Strategist: Direct, Plan and Improve (DPI)
  • ITIL 4 Leader: Digital and IT Strategy

End-learners must complete the ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP) and ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL) to be eligible to become an ITIL Master.