ITIL® 4: changes to the qualification scheme

ITIL Foundation will remain the entry level certification and continue to explore the fundamental principles of ITIL. You will need to complete ITIL Foundation as a pre-requisite if you want to sit any of the other modules. Once you have your Foundation certificate, you can then choose which qualification path you want to go down - ITIL Managing Professional or ITIL Strategic Leader.

ITIL Practitioner will no longer be available in ITIL 4 as a stand-alone module. Instead, it now forms a fundamental part of all modules in ITIL 4.

ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP) guides digital practitioners in the technology industry through successfully managing IT projects and teams. In order to reach this designation, you will need to complete the following four modules:

  • ITIL Specialist: Create, Deliver & Support
  • ITIL Specialist: Drive Stakeholder Value
  • ITIL Specialist: High Velocity IT
  • ITIL Strategist: Direct, Plan & Improve

ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL) is designed to enhance your understanding of the wider role IT plays in business strategy, and emphasises ITIL's role in delivering digitally-enabled services. In order to reach this designation you will need to complete the following two modules:

  • ITIL Leader: Digital & IT Strategy
  • ITIL Strategist: Direct, Plan & Improve

The ITIL Managing Professional Transition Module has been designed with ITIL V3 certification holders in mind. It facilitates the transition from ITIL V3 to ITIL 4 and covers the core components of the ITIL Managing Professional Scheme. For candidates who have already earned 17 credits from ITIL V3, you do not need to pass the Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) exam to take this module.

To reach the designation of ITIL Master, you will need to complete all the modules that sit under both ITIL MP and ITIL SL. This differs from the previous qualification scheme, as in ITIL V3, you were able to advance to the Expert and Master levels by gaining all their credits from either the Service Lifecycle or Service Capability modules.

Recommendations for transitioning from ITIL V3 to ITIL 4

Your path will depend on your goals, as well as the accreditation you currently hold. As a guide, we recommend the following:

  • If you have ITIL V3 Foundation: complete ITIL 4 Foundation in order to transition to the new scheme.
  • If you have a low number of credits: either take ITIL 4 Foundation and a further module in a chosen area of interest, or gain 17 credits from ITIL V3 before the qualifications expire.
  • If you have at least six credits since V3 Foundation: continue to collect credits until you reach 17, when you will become eligible to take the ITIL Managing Professional Transition Module.