Explore, discover, achieve! Up to 25% off
Click here to view all courses

Use offer code: SALE0724UK
Learn now, pay later – payment options available

ITIL Training blog

Request a quote Downloads


Repeat Customer

Have used ILX Group many times over the years for training. Not only are their prices competitive, but their online self-paced learning is thorough and the simulated practise exams prepare you really well for the real thing.

Patrick Mamo
Well prepared for exam

The content of the course gave really good context of the important information required to pass the foundations exam. The simulation exams were bang on. I was scoring in 90's for each randomly generated test and I scored 90% on the certificate exam. There is no interaction with the mobile app, but was a good supplement to listen to while walking/driving to reiterate the lesson.

All in all, I was able to ace the certification with about 3-4 weeks of effort.

Trusted Customer
Posted on Friday, 25th November 2016 13:04
Submitted by ILX Marketing Team
The Difference Between ITIL and ITSM

Many people get stuck on the distinction between ITIL and ITSM. In vague terms, the difference is that ITIL is a framework or set of practices for ITSM. To really understand that answer, we have to dig deeper into their definitions, history, and relationship.

ITSM and ITIL Definitions

ITSM stands for IT Service Management. It’s about how an organization manages IT services for customers. ITSM refers to all the activities involved in this process, which include planning, designing, delivering, operating, and controlling.

While IT Systems Management and Network Management are technology-focused, ITSM is more customer-focused. There’s a big emphasis on continual improvement. This involves consistently measuring and improving processes, IT services, and IT infrastructure. Doing so maximizes their efficiency, effectiveness, and cost effectiveness.

ITIL stands for IT Infrastructure Library. It’s a framework or a set of ITSM best practices. These processes, procedures, tasks, and checklists are not organization-specific. Instead, the idea is to integrate them with the organization's strategy. ITIL is divided into a series of five core volumes, each covering a different ITSM lifecycle stage. These stages are:

  1. Service Strategy
  2. Service Design
  3. Service Transition
  4. Service Operation
  5. Continual Service Improvement

ITIL and ITSM’s History

ITIL first came from the UK government. In the 1980s, there was a growing dependence on IT, but no standard practices. This lack of standard practices meant inconsistent service quality. The Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency (CCTA) had a set of recommendations. They wanted an ITSM framework that any organization could adapt to their needs. ITIL also had to deliver efficiency and value for money.

Meanwhile, standards were developing all over the world. Every developed nation had just as much of a need for IT Service Management. Different frameworks were developed around this time. While some of them crossed over with ITIL, none of them became more globally popular.

Relationship between ITIL and ITSM

ITIL’s popularity is part of the reason why it gets confused with ITSM. ITIL is the de facto ITSM framework. There may even be times where you can get away with using the two terms interchangeably. ITIL embodies everything in the ITSM definition above. However, ITSM defines the “what”, while ITIL defines the “how”.

While sometimes confusing, ITIL being synonymous with ITSM shows just how influential and enduring it is as a framework. That’s why many people looking for ITSM qualifications decide to take ITIL courses. You can take the first step to becoming an ITSM professional today. Visit our contact page if you have any questions or queries.