ITIL 4: The new syllabus

The ITIL® syllabus has been updated to reflect the way business is changing. One of the main elements of ITIL 4 is the idea of value co-creation - this being, value can only be achieved when the end customer is considered in the development of services/ features.

From this, the key components of the ITIL 4 framework are the ITIL service value system (SVS) and the four dimensions model.

The core components of the ITIL SVS are:

  • The ITIL service value chain
  • The ITIL practices
  • The ITIL guiding principles
  • Governance
  • Continuous improvement

To ensure a holistic approach to service management, there are then four dimensions from which each component of the SVS should be considered:

  • Organisation and people
  • Information and technology
  • Partners and suppliers
  • Value streams and processes

Then we have the ITIL practices, which are grouped into three categories as follows:

  • General management practices
  • Service management practices
  • Technical management practices

There are 34 practices* in total - 14 general management practices, 17 service management practices, and three technical management practices:

General management practices

  • Architecture management
  • Continual improvement
  • Information security management
  • Knowledge management
  • Measurement and reporting
  • Organisational change management
  • Portfolio management
  • Project management
  • Relationship management
  • Risk management
  • Service financial management
  • Strategy management
  • Supplier management
  • Workforce and talent management

Service management practices

  • Availability management
  • Business Analysis
  • Capacity and performance management
  • Change control
  • Incident management
  • IT asset management
  • Monitoring and event management
  • Problem management
  • Release management
  • Service catalogue management
  • Service configuration management
  • Service continuity management
  • Service design
  • Service desk
  • Service level management
  • Service request management
  • Service validation and testing

Technical management practices

  • Deployment management
  • Infrastructure and platform management
  • Software development and management

The Foundation level examines 15 of these practices - seven of which are examined in greater detail. The 15 examined practices at Foundation level are below. The seven in bold are the ones examined in more detail (9–15):

  1. Information security management
  2. Relationship management
  3. Supplier management
  4. IT asset management
  5. Monitoring and event management
  6. Release management
  7. Service configuration management
  8. Deployment management
  1. Continual improvement
  2. Change control
  3. Incident management
  4. Problem management
  5. Service request management
  6. Service desk
  7. Service level management

The last element of the syllabus is ITIL's guiding principles. A guiding principle is a recommendation that guides an organisation, regardless of circumstance whether that's changing goals, strategies, types of work or management structure.

  1. Focus on value
  2. Start where you are
  3. Progress iteratively with feedback
  4. Collaborate and promote visibility
  1. Think and work holistically
  2. Keep it simple and practical
  3. Optimise and automate