Explore, discover, achieve! Up to 25% off
Click here to view all courses

Use offer code: SALE0724UAE
Learn now, pay later – payment options available
About ITIL
ITIL Training Organization - Accredited by PEOPLECERT


Helped Pass ITIL4 Foundation Certification in first attempt with 95% score.

ITIL4 Foundation online course was very useful to help me pass the ITIL4 Foundation exam in first attempt. Pass Pledge feature is very good as it allows free second attempt and serves as a comfort factor. I didn't have to use Pass Pledge though as I passed the exam in first attempt with score of 95%.

Patrick Mamo

The training style and material was appropriate and the exam booking was seamless.

Trusted Customer

What's changed with the ITIL 4 update?

Changes to the framework

There are six key differences between ITIL v3 and the latest update, ITIL 4.

Trusted trainer

The ITIL 4 framework expands itself to the wider context of customer experience, value streams and digital transformation. It has been updated to reflect the developments in technology happening around the world, and now encompasses new technologies such as artificial intelligence and cloud computing that have moved into mainstream use since the launch of ITIL V3.


ITIL 4 emphasises a holistic approach to IT service management (ITSM). It's no longer just about IT, instead ITIL 4 has a broader focus on services. It has done this by defining the dimensions of service management that are essential to the facilitation of value. By taking a more comprehensive approach, ITIL 4 can help you to provide confidence and reassurance to your customers, while consistently delivering better services.

These four dimensions of service management are:

  • Organisations and people
  • Information and technology
  • Partners and suppliers
  • Value streams and processes

By taking a more comprehensive approach to service management, ITIL 4 can help you to provide confidence and reassurance to your customers, while consistently delivering better services.


ITIL 4 has evolved beyond the delivery of services to providing value co-creation with the customers and the development of the new ITIL service value chain.


In ITIL 4, there are now practices, rather than processes, covering roles, skills, people and resources. All ITIL 4 practices have been refreshed to reflect the evolution of ITSM and current ways of working.

A practice is a set of organisational resources designed for performing work or accomplishing an objective. Each ITIL practice supports multiple service value chain activities, providing a comprehensive and versatile toolset for ITSM practitioners.

These resources are grouped into three categories:

  • General management practices
  • Service management practices
  • Technical management practices

The guiding principles released in the ITIL Practitioner certification from v3 are now core to the ITIL 4 framework.

A guiding principle is a recommendation that guides an organisation in all circumstances, regardless of changes in its goals, strategies, type of work, or management structure.

The seven guiding principles of ITIL 4 are:

  1. Focus on value
  2. Start where you are
  3. Progress iteratively with feedback
  4. Collaborate and promote visibility
  5. Think and work holistically
  6. Keep it simple and practical
  7. Optimise and automate

ITIL 4 looks at everything related to IT, including development. And so the latest ITIL release has been updated to reflect, and integrate with, new ways of working and other frameworks, including agile, DevOps, lean, IT governance and leadership

Changes to the qualification scheme
With ITIL 4, there was a complete overhaul of the qualification scheme.

ITIL Foundation

This will remain the entry level certification and continue to explore the fundamental principles of ITIL. You will need to complete ITIL Foundation as a pre-requisite if you want to sit any of the other modules. Once you have your Foundation certificate, you can then choose which qualification path you want to go down -- ITIL Managing Professional or ITIL Strategic Leader.

ITIL Practitioner

This certification will no longer be available in ITIL 4. However, the content that was created for it, now forms a fundamental part of all modules in ITIL 4.

ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP)

One of two new designation streams, ITIL MP guides digital practitioners in the technology industry through successfully managing IT projects and teams.

It includes the following four modules:

  • ITIL Specialist: Create, Deliver & Support
  • ITIL Specialist: Drive Stakeholder Value
  • ITIL Specialist: High Velocity IT
  • ITIL Strategist: Direct, Plan & Improve

ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL)

The second of the two new streams, ITIL SL is designed to enhance your understanding of the wider role IT plays in business strategy, and emphasises ITIL's role in delivering digitally-enabled services.

It consists of the following two modules:

  • ITIL Leader: Digital & IT Strategy
  • ITIL Strategist: Direct, Plan & Improve

ITIL Managing Professional Transition

Designed specifically for people who have already achieved a certain level of certification through the ITIL v3 framework, covering the core components of the ITIL Managing Professional stream. If you have already earned 17 credits from ITIL v3, you can go directly to this module to achieve the ITIL MP designation.

ITIL Master

To reach the designation of ITIL Master, you will need to complete all the modules that sit under both ITIL MP and ITIL SL. This differs from the previous qualification scheme, as in ITIL v3, you were able to advance to the Expert and Master levels by gaining all the credits from either the Service Lifecycle or Service Capability modules.