Learn more for less - up to 25% off!
Click here to view all courses

Use offer code: JUNE24UAE
Learn now, pay later – payment options available
About ITIL
ITIL Training Organization - Accredited by PEOPLECERT


Helped Pass ITIL4 Foundation Certification in first attempt with 95% score.

ITIL4 Foundation online course was very useful to help me pass the ITIL4 Foundation exam in first attempt. Pass Pledge feature is very good as it allows free second attempt and serves as a comfort factor. I didn't have to use Pass Pledge though as I passed the exam in first attempt with score of 95%.

Patrick Mamo
Well prepared for exam

The content of the course gave really good context of the important information required to pass the foundations exam. The simulation exams were bang on. I was scoring in 90's for each randomly generated test and I scored 90% on the certificate exam. There is no interaction with the mobile app, but was a good supplement to listen to while walking/driving to reiterate the lesson.

All in all, I was able to ace the certification with about 3-4 weeks of effort.

Trusted Customer

ITIL 4 syllabus

The ITIL service value system

When ITIL 4 was released, the syllabus was updated to reflect the way business is changing. One of the main elements of ITIL 4 is the idea of value co-creation – the concept that value can only be achieved when the end customer is considered in the development of services and features.

As a result, the ITIL 4 framework now includes the ITIL service value system (SVS) and the four dimensions model.

Trusted trainer

The core components of the ITIL SVS are:

  • The ITIL service value chain
  • The ITIL practices
  • The ITIL guiding principles
  • Governance
  • Continuous improvement
Service value system diagram

Copyright © AXELOS Limited 2019. Used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.

To ensure a holistic approach to service management, each of these components should be considered from the following four dimensions:

  • Organisation and people
  • Information and technology
  • Partners and suppliers
  • Value streams and processes
Four dimensions of service management diagram

Copyright © AXELOS Limited 2019. Used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.

The ITIL practices

There are 34 ITIL practices, which are grouped into three categories:

  • General management practices (14)
  • Service management practices (17)
  • Technical management practices

General management practices

  • Architecture management
  • Continual improvement
  • Information security management
  • Knowledge management
  • Measurement and reporting
  • Organisational change management
  • Portfolio management
  • Project management
  • Relationship management
  • Risk management
  • Service financial management
  • Strategy management
  • Supplier management
  • Workforce and talent management

Service management practices

  • Availability management
  • Business Analysis
  • Capacity and performance management
  • Change control
  • Incident management
  • IT asset management
  • Monitoring and event management
  • Problem management
  • Release management
  • Service catalogue management
  • Service configuration management
  • Service continuity management
  • Service design
  • Service desk
  • Service level management
  • Service request management
  • Service validation and testing

Technical management practices

  • Deployment management
  • Infrastructure and platform management
  • Software development and management

The Foundation level specifically examines 15 of these practices -- seven of which are examined in greater detail (in bold):

  1. Information security management
  2. Relationship management
  3. Supplier management
  4. IT asset management
  5. Monitoring and event management
  6. Release management
  7. Service configuration management
  8. Deployment management
  9. Continual improvement
  10. Change control
  11. Incident management
  12. Problem management
  13. Service request management
  14. Service desk
  15. Service level management

The ITIL guiding principles

The last element of the syllabus is ITIL's guiding principles. A guiding principle is a recommendation that guides an organisation, regardless of circumstance whether that's changing goals, strategies, types of work or management structure.

  1. Focus on value
  2. Start where you are
  3. Progress iteratively with feedback
  4. Collaborate and promote visibility
  5. Think and work holistically
  6. Keep it simple and practical
  7. Optimise and automate