ITIL 4: The new syllabus

The ITIL® syllabus has been updated to reflect the way business is changing. One of the main elements of ITIL 4 is the idea of value co-creation - this being, value can only be achieved when the end customer is considered in the development of services/ features.

From this, the key components of the ITIL 4 framework are the ITIL service value system (SVS) and the four dimensions model.

The core components of the ITIL SVS are:

  • The ITIL service value chain
  • The ITIL practices
  • The ITIL guiding principles
  • Governance
  • Continuous improvement
Service value system diagram

To ensure a holistic approach to service management, there are then four dimensions from which each component of the SVS should be considered:

  • Organisation and people
  • Information and technology
  • Partners and suppliers
  • Value streams and processes
Four dimenions of service management diagram

Then we have the ITIL practices, which are grouped into three categories as follows:

  • General management practices
  • Service management practices
  • Technical management practices

There are 34 practices* in total - 14 general management practices, 17 service management practices, and three technical management practices:

General Management Practices Service management practices Technical management practices
Architecture management Availability management Deployment management
Continual improvement Business Analysis Infrastructure and platform management
Information security management Capacity and performance management Software development and management
Knowledge management Change control
Measurement and reporting Incident management
Organizational change management IT asset management
Portfolio management Monitoring and event management
Project management Problem management
Relationship management Release management
Risk management Service catalogue management
Service financial management Service configuration management
Strategy management Service continuity management
Supplier management Service design
Workforce and talent management Service desk
Service level management
Service request management  
Service validation and testing

The Foundation level examines 15 of these practices - seven of which are examined in greater detail. The 15 examined practices at Foundation level are below. The seven in bold are the ones examined in more detail (9–15):

  1. Information security management
  2. Relationship management
  3. Supplier management
  4. IT asset management
  5. Monitoring and event management
  6. Release management
  7. Service configuration management
  8. Deployment management
  1. Continual improvement
  2. Change control
  3. Incident management
  4. Problem management
  5. Service request management
  6. Service desk
  7. Service level management

The last element of the syllabus is ITIL's guiding principles. A guiding principle is a recommendation that guides an organisation, regardless of circumstance whether that's changing goals, strategies, types of work or management structure.

  1. Focus on value
  2. Start where you are
  3. Progress iteratively with feedback
  4. Collaborate and promote visibility
  5. Think and work holistically
  6. Keep it simple and practical
  7. Optimise and automate