When will ITIL 4 be available?

The ITIL 4 modules will be released over the course of 2019, with Foundation available in February. The ITIL Specialist modules, ITIL Strategist and ITIL Leader will all be released in the second half of 2019. Full release dates for them will be out by the end of March. Details have not yet been given for ITIL Master.

Is ITIL V3 being discontinued?

Candidates will still be able to sit the ITIL V3 exam up until June 2020 and you'll get at least 6 months' notice if other products get discontinued. Partners will be given sufficient time to move from ITIL V3 to ITIL 4. This will also allow candidates enough time to collect the ITIL V3 credits that are a prerequisite to beginning ITIL Managing Professional.

Where is ITIL Practitioner in ITIL 4?

ITIL Practitioner will no longer be a stand-alone module, however the content covered in ITIL Practitioner will be integral to ITIL 4 modules. If you already possess 17 credits, then you do not have to take the MALC exam to be eligible to take the ITIL Managing Professional Transition Module.

When are the ITIL 4 translations coming out?

ITIL 4 will be translated into German, French, Japanese and Spanish in the first instance. More details of translations will be released by AXELOS in Q1 of 2019.

Do I have to redo ITIL Foundation?

The ITIL 4 exam is widely different from the ITIL V3 Foundation, so AXELOS recommends completing the new course. However, if you hold 17 credits in the ITIL V3 scheme, then you are eligible to complete the ITIL Managing Professional transition module as an alternative to completing ITIL 4 Foundation.

What are the certification levels called?

The ITIL Certification Scheme comprises the following 5 levels:

  • ITIL Foundation
  • ITIL Specialist modules (3)
  • ITIL Strategist
  • ITIL Leader
  • ITIL Master

Note that the ITIL4 certification scheme now includes two different designation streams - ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP) and ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL).

ITIL master diagram

Candidates can achieve a competitive advantage in the marketplace as both streams offer end-learners a clearer understanding of the specific areas in which they can improve their skillset, and provide the practical advice to do so.

The two streams are made up of five modules.

To become an ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP), end-learners must complete the following modules:

  • ITIL 4 Foundation
  • ITIL Specialist: create, deliver & support
  • ITIL Specialist: drive stakeholder value
  • ITIL Specialist: high velocity IT
  • ITIL Strategist: direct, plan and improve*

To become an ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL), end-learners must complete the following modules:

  • ITIL 4 Foundation
  • ITIL Strategist: direct, plan & improve*
  • ITIL Leader: digital and IT strategy

*Universal module for both ITIL designation streams.

End-learners must complete the ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP) and ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL) to be eligible to become an ITIL Master. More information will be released at a later date.