ITIL® V3 Foundation Online Course

ITIL is an adaptable and flexible framework for managing IT services. As an ITIL-certified professional you will become more confident in your abilities and will be more effective in your role, making you a valuable resource to your organisation and your customers.

ITIL® V3 Foundation


From Just $630

2019 will see the launch of the highly-anticipated ITIL® 4. This new version of ITIL retains all the best bits of V3, but with more emphasis on collaborative working, along with a holistic end-to-end view of product and service delivery.

The ITIL V3 qualification will continue to be available until AXELOS advise that the transition period will cease. Therefore we would encourage you to transition to the new scheme as soon as possible. Once the V3 qualification is phased out, the Practitioner level certification will no longer exist.

Study ITIL Foundation online with ILX Group to:

  • Demonstrate applicable IT knowledge
  • Improve your CV and career
  • Get qualified in ten hours of study
  • Re-sit the Foundation exam at no extra cost

ILX Group's ITIL Foundation e-learning course is an online training module combining cutting-edge multimedia materials and interactive exercises to promote knowledge retention and ensure outstanding exam pass rates. Our training is accredited by Peoplecert, and has been written by learning development specialists, ITIL subject experts and multimedia creators to provide the most relevant and effective information possible.

You will be provided with everything you need to pass the exam, allowing you to learn in your own time at your own pace. We recommend up to 10 study hours of preparation prior to sitting the exam.

{{ configuredPrice() | currencyFormat }} AUD + GST

What's Included?

  • 12 months online access
  • Full tutor support
  • ITIL Process Map
  • A page glossary for quick access to glossary definitions
  • A revision pad to allow you to store exam questions and relevant sections
  • Mock exam tool
  • Acronym buster
  • New look graphical reporting of student exam statistics
  • If exam is purchased, it is an online exam with remote invigilation
  • Re-sit the Foundation exam at no extra cost

Course Syllabus

Session 1 – Overview of ITIL & Service Management

  • Objectives of course
  • What is Service Management?
  • What are services?
  • Early history of ITIL and the future of ITIL?
  • ITIL examination bodies
  • Complimentary standards and publications
  • Why is good practice needed?
  • Benchmarking
  • Overview of the ITIL Service Lifecycle stages
  • Functions, processes and roles explained
  • Topic quiz

Session 2 – Service Strategy

  • Session objectives including an overview and introduction to Service Strategy
  • Key concepts within Service Strategy
  • The Service Portfolio and the Service Catalogue
  • Topic quiz
  • Service Strategy processes
  • Components of value and value creation
  • Service Portfolio management process and roles
  • Demand management process and roles
  • Generic roles, Service Owner, Process Owner, Process Manager, Process Practitioner, Product Manager and the Business Relationship Manager role

Session 3 – Service Design

  • Overview of Service Design
  • Topic quiz
  • Supplier and Service Level management
  • Service Catalogue management
  • Availability management
  • Information Security management
  • Capacity management
  • IT Service Continuity management
  • Design coordination

Session 4 – Service Transition

  • Overview of the Service Transition stage of the Service Lifecycle
  • Topic quiz
  • Service Transition processes
  • Roles involved with Service Transition activities
  • Session summary

Session 5 – Service Operation

  • Overview of the Service Operation stage of the Service Lifecycle
  • Topic quiz
  • Incident management process, problem management, event management, request fulfillment, access management methods, activities and tools,
  • generic process activities
  • Service desk and other functions
  • Session summary

Session 6 – Continual Service Improvement

  • Overview of the Continual Service Improvement stage of the Service Lifecycle
  • CSI tools and techniques including the Deming cycle, CSI model and the CSI register
  • 7 Step Improvement process model
  • Roles involved in CSI
  • Session summary

Session 7 – Technology & Architecture

  • Objectives for use of technology and tools
  • Tool evaluation and tool selection process considerations
  • Tools and technology across the Service lifecycle stages
  • Session summary

Session 8 – ITIL qualification scheme & exam technique

Session 9 – Exam simulator


  • Multiple choice
  • 40 questions per paper
  • 26 marks required to pass (out of 40 available) - 65%
  • 60 minutes duration
  • Closed book